No items found.

January 3, 2023 1:25 PM

Published by Cricket Wellington

The Firebirds and Blaze announce changes to their squads ahead of the first of two at home, facing the Northern Brave at home on January 4th.


After a perfect start to their campaign, the Firebirds dip into their squad depth to bolster the batting lineup, with Devan Vishvaka selected to the squad for the first time.

Vishvaka is in line for a potential debut, selected to the squad to shore up the batting ranks. The 22-year-old opener is an exciting prospect for the squad and will look to make an immediate impact for the Firebirds.

Finn Allen is a notable name missing from the squad, with Allen on his way to join the BLACKCAPS in Pakistan later this week.

Pacer Adam Milne is the other exclusion from the squad, nursing an injury that kept him from traveling with the Firebirds to Christchurch. His return is expected very shortly.

Right-arm bowler Ollie Newton rejoins the squad after missing the start of the Dream11 Super Smash, bringing his skill and experience to bolster a bowling unit that has their tails up.

The Firebirds take on last year’s champion Northern Brave at 2:40pm on January 4th. Watch LIVE on Spark Sport.


The Spotlight Reporting Wellington Blaze come home after keeping their win streak alive in Canterbury, looking to cement themselves atop the ladder.

One change for the Blaze, with Georgia Plimmer giving way to Nicole Baird.

Baird made her Blaze debut in Christchurch, using her crafty left-arm spin to take a wicket in her very first over in the T20 outfit.

Amelia Kerr leads the Spotlight Reporting Wellington Blaze against the Brave

Wellington Blaze squad | Dream11 Super Smash | v Northern Brave

Amelia Kerr (Captain)

Leigh Kasperek (Vice Captain)

Nicole Baird

Rebecca Burns

Sophie Devine

Maddy Green

Jess Kerr

Caitlin King

Jess McFadyen

Thamsyn Newton

Maneka Singh

Xara Jetly

Wellington Firebirds squad | Dream11 Super Smash | v Northern Brave

Peter Younghusband (c)

Callum McLachlan (wk)

Devan Vishvaka

Nick Kelly

Rachin Ravindra

Troy Johnson

Ollie Newton

Nathan Smith

Tim Robinson

Logan van Beek

Michael Snedden

Iain McPeake

Share via:

2023/24 Super Smash Memberships

August 7, 2023

Make Some Noise | Gameday Mindset with Peter Younghusband

February 3, 2023

Match Highlights | Ford Trophy Round 9 vs Otago | Georgeson Continues Hot Form Before the Rain

February 2, 2023